The conference is organized in conjunction with the project Molecules in Extreme Environments at the Centre for Advanced Study (CAS) at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters . During the academic year 2017–2018, a number of quantum chemists are participating in this CAS project, contributing to the development and application of electronic-structure theory for the study of atoms, molecules, and materials in extreme environments, including strong magnetic fields and high pressure.

At the conference, we aim to highlight experimental and computational work in different areas of science that concern the behaviour of atoms, molecules and materials in extreme environments, including chemistry, physics, Earth science and astrophysics.

The conference is held at The Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters. It begins Monday June 4 at 08:30 (registration from 08:00) and ends after lunch Wednesday June 6 (around 14:00). The number of participants is limited to 80.

List of invited speakers

Heiko Appel, Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter (Hamburg) [Germany]: Real-time evolution of coupled Ehrenfest-Maxwell-Kohn-Sham equations for molecules exposed to strong magnetic fields and intense laser fields

Raymond Ashoori, Center for Integrated Quantum Materials, MIT (Cambridge, MT) [USA]: A Method for Studying Tunnelling into Insulators:Discovery of a Sharp Tunnelling Resonance from Phonons of an Electronic Wigner Crystal

Wojciech Bartkowiak, Wrocław University of Science and Technology [Poland]: Molecular electric properties upon spatial confinement

Roberto Cammi,University of Parma [Italy]: The eXtreme Pressure Polarizable Continuum Model

Lorenz Cederbaum, Universität Heidelberg [Germany]: On systems with and without excess energy in environment: ICD and other interatomic mechanisms

David Ceperly, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign [USA]: Simulations of Dense Hydrogen

Agnes Dewaele, CEA, DAM, DIF, Arpajon [France]: Synthesis of new chemical compounds under pressure

Eugene Gregoryanz, School of Phyiscs and Astronomy, University of Edinburgh [UK]: Solid hydrogen and its Isotopes at Extreme Conditions

Wojciech Grochala, Center for New Technologies (CENT), University of Warsaw [Poland]: Alice in the High Pressure Wonderland --- or Learning How to Be a Humble Theoretician

Andreas Hermann, School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Edinburgh [UK]: Quantum modelling of hydrogen-rich planetary materials

Thomas Jagau, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich [Germany]: Differences and similarities between autoionization and strong-field ionization

Krzysztof Pachucki, University of Warsaw [Poland]: Precision physics with the hydrogen molecule

Lukáš Félix Pašteka, Comenius University [Slovakia]: From atomic confinement to high pressure

Elke Pahl, Massey University Auckland [New Zealand]: Melting in Extreme Environments

Carlo Rizzo, Laboratoire National des Champs Magnétiques Intenses (Toulouse) [France]: Rubidium atoms in high magnetic field

Robin Santra, DESY and Universität Hamburg [Germany]: Molecules at high x-ray intensity: Challenges for theory

Bernie Schlegel, Wayne State University (Detroit) [USA]: Computational simulation of molecules interacting with intense laser fields

Peter Schmelcher, Universität Hamburg [Germany]: Ultralong-Range Molecules in External Fields

Toru Shiozaki, Northwestern University (Chicago) [USA]: Open-shell molecules in strong magnetic fields

Stella Stopkowicz, Johannes Gutenberg – Universität Mainz [Germany]: Electronic structure in strong magnetic fields

Andy Teale, University of Nottingham: Climbing Jacob’s ladder under extreme conditions — density-functional approximations with non-local contributions for atoms and molecules in strong magnetic fields

Erik Tellgren, University of Oslo [Norway]: Quantum chemistry of molecules in strong magnetic fields

Anand Thirumalai, DigiPen Institute of Technology (Redmond, WA) [USA]: Glimpses of an alien chemistry: atoms in neutron star atmospheres

Eva Zurek, State University of New York at Buffalo [USA]: Theoretical Predictions of Unique Hydride Phases Under Pressure




The conference header has kindly been provided by Camilla Kottum Elmar (CAS).

Online user: 2